With the arrival of social media to the Internet, new forms of commerce, marketing, etc. also arrived. And this means creating solutions, evolving, or modifying services/products to fit the unique environment, which is where Google Adds came in.
What is Google Adds?
Google Ads, formerly known as Google Adwords, is Google’s ad platform and main source of revenue. Its first version was launched in 2000 and has been leading the market ever since.
In 2016, Google AdWords revenue was around $79 billion. The second position is a bit far behind: we refer to Facebook’s ad platform, with $26 billion. Since 2001, AdWords earnings growth has been remarkable.
How works the Ads?
The ads are primarily displayed in search results, related to the keywords used in that search.
It’s an incredible proposition. Nothing is more relevant than showing a relevant ad that “delivers” what people are looking for, at the exact moment they are searching for a product or service.
But that is not all. There are also other ad formats available in Google Ads, in addition to the search network. They can be displayed as banners and videos, in exceptional areas and visible on various Google partner sites.
Promote your website
Seeing the increase and success of people owning e-commerce businesses, it makes sense that people are increasingly looking to open and create a Google Ads account to promote their website and expand their business, to reach the right people at the right time with the products or services they offer. However, when they want to end using this tool, they face the scenario: the procedure for terminating or deleting a Google Ads account is unknown.
It is important to understand the differences between some processes before you begin. For example, canceling an account in Google Ads is different from deleting an account. Since Google Ads is a service or product that is part of a Google account, such as Gmail, My Business, YouTube, and Google Calendar.
How to cancel Google Ads Account?
To Google Ads, canceling an account means a temporary suspension of the account. This action will automatically stop all ads within 24 hours. However, you will still have access to your account and can reactivate it at any time.
Unless for promotional offers, when a Google Ads account is canceled, you may receive a refund of the account balance you have been using. The remaining balance is refunded within four weeks (a month) with the payment method used in the campaigns. Furthermore, you should note that before canceling, it must be remembered that there must be no debit or pending balance to cancel.
Keep in mind: when canceling your Google Ads account
- If you cancel the account, the databases of the clients who have been uploaded in Google Ads campaigns will be closed, and no new data can be added; additionally, to recover the data from these databases, the users who are part of the databases will be deleted.
- If there are issues at the time of cancellation, and the option to “cancel my account” is not available. There is a documentation option to ensure that the requirements are being met or not.
Steps to Cancel Google Ads Account
- You must first have administrator access to your Google Ads account, with billing set up correctly on your account.
- Then go to “settings” section which is found on the toolbar.
- Once the settings menu is displayed, you must choose the “preferences” option.
- When you click on preferences, you will find the label called “account status”, and now click on “cancel my account.”
How to Delete Google Ads Account?
Now you delete your Google account, this will automatically delete your Google Ads Account. And remember, all Google product accounts associated with them are terminated, making none of them inaccessible, and the Gmail username is removed and cannot be used in the future.
Keep in mind: Before deleting the account
- Before deleting the account, you can review the information, download it, and even update the account recovery data in case you need to recover it later.
- All account data and content, such as emails, files, calendars, and photos, are lost.
- Signed-in Google services such as Gmail, Drive, Calendar, or Play will no longer be available.
- Signed-in Google services such as Gmail, Drive, Calendar, or Play will no longer be available. Thereby, subscriptions or content purchased as accounts on YouTube or Google Play, such as apps, music, movies, games, and TV shows, are lost.
Steps to Delete Google Ads Account
- Sign in to your Google account.
- Enter the control panel to “manage your Google account.” Then look on the left side, the “Data and Privacy” section is displayed.
And that is how your Google Ads Account will be Permanently Deleted!
Note: In case you want to recover the account, you have a maximum period of 5 days to do so; after the deadline, it will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.